How much can you really prepare for labour? 

Can you ever really prepare yourself for labour as a first time mum? 

There is so much that is unknown and that can feel exciting, overwhelming and scary especially as you get closer to D day. 

To be quite honest, despite goingto antenatal  classes I still hoped a stalk would bring our baby to me on the due date.

We chose to do NCT classes and they were great! We did this over two and a half weekends which at the time seemed long especially as it was at the height of summer. 7 months pregnant and 30 degree heat is not fun! 

My partner was not keen to go however I really wanted him there as we both had things to learn and I thought it would be good for him and make it more real. I think in a weird way he did enjoy himself. 

The best bit about the NCT class was meeting other pregnant people. We now have a whatsapp group and message at all times of the day. It’s a really great support network and I am very grateful for that. 

I found the classes really helped with my birth plan and what to expect. I also found myself thinking I could do the labour without an epidural which I had said for years I would always have. 

With my birth plan in place we then did a birthing suite tour. One of my NCT friends was on the same tour which was nice to see a friendly face. My partner and I rocked up to the midwifery suite and the tour began. 

We were shown round various rooms and then went into one of the biggest rooms and one of the midwives went through what we needed to do etc when we went into labour. 

It was very hot in this room and we were standing for some time, my partner was behind me and started leaning on me which I thought was his way of being supportive. However he then said he was going to faint. I turned round and found him a funny shade of green/yellow before he slivered to the ground. I was so shocked I couldn’t believe it….and a bit embarrassed! In his defence I will say that he did warn me he wasn’t good with hospitals and didn’t think he would cope with being in the room for the birth….I obviously hadn’t listened but soon realised that if he fainted in a room where no one was giving birth what was he going to be like when the baby actually arrived!!! 

He was fine in the end and we went on our way…I was also back to the drawing board with my birth plan… I needed a new partner! 

X

Author:

A new mum to my little girl, looking to share experiences 😊

Leave a Reply

